City Council and City Manager

Socorro’s City Council has one focus, the people of Socorro. Our elected officials and administrative staff strive to work with each-other and the community to do what’s best for Socorro and its residents.


Jesus Ruiz

Mayor Ruiz was elected into office in May of 2013. He holds a B.A in History from New Mexico State University and currently works as a Case Manager for Southwest Key Programs. Mayor Ruiz believes that Socorro has great potential and strives to do his best to represent the people of our City.

At Large Representative

Rene Rodriguez

Representative Rodriguez was elected in May of 2013 and has been active in his duties as At Large Representative. He believes that our city government should have full transparency and takes the time to meet and talk to constituents about their concerns.

District 1 Representative

Sergio Cox

Representative Cox has lived in Socorro since 1966. He retired from the El Paso Police Department as Sergeant of Patrol after 26 years of service. Serving as the At Large Representative from 2006-2010 he was elected as the District 1 Representative in November of 2013. Representative Cox is committed to improving the quality of life for the people of Socorro.

District 2 Representative

Gloria Rodriquez

Representative Rodriguez has lived in Socorro her entire life and has experienced the needs of the community throughout that time. She was a volunteer on the Socorro Civil Service Commission for 9 years before she decided to run for Council. Representative Rodriguez is honored to serve the City of Socorro and looks forward to continuing that service into the future.

District 3 Representative

Victor Perez

District 4 Representative

J.E. “Chito” Bowling

City Manager

Willie Norfleet Jr.